HEAB navigation bar
HEAB Main Page Contacting HEAB Financial Aid Application Info Links Questions Aid Administrators Site Map HEAB >> Press Releases

Academic Excellence Scholars for 2005 Are Designated

May 27, 2005

Madison - Connie Hutchison, Executive Secretary of the Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board (HEAB), announced today that the recipients of the 2005 Academic Excellence Scholarship have been named. This year, eight hundred eighty-seven scholars from 510 Wisconsin high schools have been selected. The scholarship is awarded to the senior or seniors in each high school with the highest grade point average in all subjects.

Students who earn this scholarship are awarded $2,250 to be applied toward tuition at any participating University of Wisconsin-System school, Wisconsin technical college, Wisconsin tribal college, or Wisconsin private, non-profit college or university. The scholarship is granted for up to four years.

In addition to the monetary award, scholars also receive a certificate of recognition signed by Governor Jim Doyle. These certificates have been sent out in time for each school's annual awards program.

"It's important to provide this incentive to keep Wisconsin's top students here at home," Governor Doyle said. "Students who graduate from Wisconsin institutions are more likely to continue to work and live here as adults. I want to congratulate these students on their great academic achievement. Keeping them in Wisconsin is a win for them and for our state."

Since the inception of the AES program in 1990, almost 12,000 high school students have been awarded this scholarship.

HEAB Main Page | Contacting HEAB | Financial Aid Programs | Financial Aid Application Information
Frequently Asked Questions | Links | Information for Financial Aid Administrators | Site Map

© Copyright 2005 by the Higher Educational Aids Board.
HEAB E-Mail: HEABmail@wisconsin.gov
State of Wisconsin E-Government Privacy Notice